The Story of Summerton Baptist
Most children like to boast of the youth of their mothers but we boast of the age of our mother, Calvary Baptist Church. We love her dignity, as well as her history filled with torch bearing for our King. She is one of the three oldest churches in our state.
In 1859 some members of Calvary Church met at the home of Honorable James H. Tindal for the purpose of organizing a church. They erected a bush arbor on a wooded spot on the Nelson Ferry Road on Taw Caw plantation owned by Hon James H. Tindal and his wife, Mrs. Sarah Allen Tindal. This spot is soon to have a marker presented by Mrs. W.H. Anderson who was Miss Emily Tindal, grand-daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James H. Tindal. Here they worshipped for many months until Honorable James H. Tindal deeded them a choice site on the Nelson Ferry Road. Later he gave the land for a cemetery nearby.
The most active in instituting the new church according to the records of J. D. Rutledge, the first clerk, were: Hon. James H. Tindal, Col. T. H. Connors, R. K. Rutledge, W. W. Holladay, R. B. Harvin, and Dr. W. W. B. James, William Bryant,. John Shepherd, besides Annie F. Connors, Ellen Harvin, Hulda Shepherd and others.
The Rev. D. W. Cuttino was the first pastor. He served eleven years.
A building was erected at Taw Caw in 1860. The war conditions made the procuring of the seats, floor and pulpit a sacrificial effort. During the conflict Wheeler's men occupied our church building for several weeks. The weather being bad at the time, the soldiers attempted to put sand on the floor and to build a fire. This came near being disastrous.
The bankrupt conditions following the war prevented the necessary repairs so when the Negroes of the Baptist faith offered to purchase the property, the offer was accepted. The church and lot sold for $400.00.
- Next >>